入学条件

对于收到了录取通知书的学生,在签署接受录取声明之前,学生需阅读、理解并接受以下入学条件。费用、条件、课程时间、课程表、班级规模和课程开课日期可能在未发出通知的情况下发生变化。同意以下入学条件并不意味着你无权根据学校的投诉与申诉程序或澳大利亚的消费者保护法律提起诉讼,或寻求其他法律救济。

出勤
所有学生必须参加至少80%的课程。未能达到前述出勤率的学生签证持有人可能被上报至澳大利亚国土事务部。

地址变化
在抵达学校后,学生签证持有人必须提供现有的联系方式(包括住址、电子邮箱和电话号码)。联系方式发生变化,必须在7天内以书面形式告知

入学变更
若学生要求修订录取通知书或录取确认书,学校保留向学生收取不可退还的入学变更费用的权利,金额为100澳元。

生活费用
澳大利亚的生活费用差异巨大。学生应安排至少20000澳元每年的预算,以作饮食、交通、住宿、服装和娱乐费用。有关生活费用的进一步信息,详见www.studyinaustralia.gov.au

延期、暂停或取消学习
若出现令人生怜或具有说服力的情形,学生可申请延期开课。学校可基于无法在学生的初始开课日期提供适合课程的理由,而提出延期开课。若出现令人生怜或具有说服力的情形,学生可申请暂停学习。

被学校暂停或取消学习的学生可根据学校的投诉与申诉程序行事。有关学习延期、暂停和取消政策及流程的更多详细信息,详见在开课时发给学生的学生手册。

学生由于未能付款被暂停学习
学生提前支付学费是入学条件之一。若学生在收到付款指示后,未能支付课程费用,则学生可能被暂停学习。在全额支付所有课程费用之前,不会颁发任何结业证书/成就证书。

议解决
若出现争议,学生可根据学校的投诉与申诉程序行事。然后,学生可登陆www.oso.gov.au,与海外学生申诉专员取得联系,就学校的决策发起外部诉讼或外部投诉。

通用英语(晚间)课程
报名学习通用英语(晚间)课程的学生应至少具备中低级的英语水平(约为雅思4.5分)。经学生入学测试,若英语语言能力低于这一水平,学生将被要求学习通用英语(日间)课程,直至其具备中低级的英语水平。对于在通用英语(晚间)课程的入学测试中未达到要求水平的学生,学校将针对通用英语(日间)课程的费用差额开具发票。

新生入学指引
所有学生需参加在开课第一天举行的新生入学指引活动。有关信息详见录取通知书。


学生(若适用,还包括学生的父母或监护人在内)同意向ELS教育服务公司及其所有子公司、附属公司、加盟者和被许可方(统称为“ELS”)授予许可,准许ELS按照下述规定使用我的姓名和/或肖像,和/或引文(简称为“引文”),和/或我编写的有关ELS学习体验的文章(简称为“文章”):

  1. ELS将持有引文、文章以及包含我在内的静态图片、音频和/或视频的所有权,以及我在视频中所说的话的所有权。ELS拥有不受限制的权利,可发布前述图片,并将前述视频、引文和文章用于ELS的推广和宣传材料、所有ELS网站,以及其他ELS材料,包括由ELS发起并授权的社交媒体定位和信息流,ELS有权授权代理人和其他第三方执行前述活动 – 包括但不限于Berlitz公司及其子公司、附属公司、加盟者和被许可方,品牌网站或确认网站,以及Facebook、YouTub、Twitter以及其他社交媒体和互联网目的地网页。
  2. 本授权适用于全球范围,也适用于现已存在或随后开发的所有媒体。
  3. ELS可在ELS的任何网站、博客或印制宣传材料上展示引文或文章,以便宣传ELS的课程、产品和服务,ELS还可授权代理人和第三方代表ELS将引文或文章用于前述用途。
  4. ELS不得更改引文(在不影响语意或上下文的前提下,为节省空间而作出的编辑除外)或归因方式。出于澄清目的,ELS可对文章进行编辑,并且应确保不影响语意或上下文,符合适用的指南或标准。

龄期家属
陪同学生来澳大利亚学习的学龄期家属可能需要支付全额学费,不论其是否报名就读政府或非政府学校。

学校的行为准则
学生应执行学校教职人员的合理指示,遵守在新生入学教育时向学生发放的学生手册规定的学校详细制度。若学生持续和/或严重违反学生行为准则,学校有绝对酌情权(根据自然公正原则,除非法律另有规定)暂停学生的学习,和/或开除学生。

 

18岁的学生
若学生未满18岁,未由父母陪同来澳,或在澳期间未与近亲居住,并且该学生有意申请学生签证,则在学校批准学生的入学申请之前,学生的拟议住宿和福利安排必须先获得学校的批准。

 

习假期
年满18岁、就读通用英语课程和/或学术英语课程的学生签证持有人可在课程学习期间或课程学习间隙,申请获得最长5周的学习假期,必须在申请中提出具体安排。若需更多信息,请联系applysydney@els.edu

退款政策
退款申请必须采用书面形式,并发送给ELS悉尼中心的总经理兼校长,或发送至applysydney@els.edu。根据本政策可予退还的款项(应根据“学校违约”退还的款项除外)将在收到书面退款申请的四周内予以退还。课程的定义为学生报名就读的总学习时间。对于获得报名费豁免或优惠的学生,将从学生的最终应付金额中扣除全额报名费或优惠金额。

在开课前28天以上取消课程

退还100%的学费和书本/材料费,以及海外学生健康保险/海外游客健康保险

在开课前28天以内取消课程

退还50%学费、100%书本/材料费,以及海外学生健康保险/海外游客健康保险

在开课当天或开课后取消课程

不退换学费或书本/材料费*

  1. 开课指初始单一课程或课程组合/课程包,包括修订的录取通知书在内。
  2. 报名费在所有情形下均不可退。
  3. 除非以书面形式通知,课程取消均不生效。
  4. 不得将课程费用转让给他人。
  5. 若学生的签证申请被拒导致无法开课,并且学生是在开课日期之前提出的签证申请,学校将退还所有预付课程费用,并减去费用的5%或500澳元,以金额较小者为准。将在学校收到官方拒签信的28天内予以退款。
  6. 若在原课程开课日期之后,学生提出从较贵的课程转为较便宜的课程,学生将无法获得课程差额退款,海外学生教育服务法或国家规范要求的情形除外。
  7. 若学生为评估其英语水平,参加了ELS学术英语课前测试,则学生需在抵达后参加摸底考试,若学生的英语水平低于课前测试结果,学校将安排学生学习初级课程。这种情况下,不予以退款。就读高级课程的学生将获得学费的退款,需减去250澳元的管理费。
  8. 若学生因不遵守学生行为准则而被暂停学习和/或开除,不会退还向学校支付的费用,除非法律另有要求。
  9. 若学生因出勤或学术成绩不达标而被取消注册,学生将无法获得退款。
  10. 退款时,学生假期将记入学习时间,预先安排的课程学习期间或课程间隙的学习假期除外。
  11. 对于通过学校的授权代理人提出的报名退款申请,款项将退还给代理人。

 

学校违约
若学校未能提供学生报名就读的推广课程,或在课程结束之前撤销了课程,学校将安排学生就读其他课程,并且不向学生收取额外费用。学生必须向我们发出书面通知,告知接受其他课程,或选择退还预付费用的剩余未使用部分。将在学校停止提供课程之日起的2周内予以退款。

 

寄宿家庭/场接送
Global Experience是我们首选的寄宿家庭和机场接送服务供应商。有关寄宿家庭住宿和机场接送的退款政策,详见Global Experience的网站。若学生在校期间违反学生行为准则,导致被开除,或寄宿家庭认为学生的行为表现较差,可取消寄宿家庭住宿。这种情况下,不会退还已付的寄宿家庭费用。不可接受的行为包括但不限于:暴力行为、使用或售卖毒品、反社会行为、性虐待或性骚扰,或其他犯罪活动。

第三方住宿
将根据入住日期确定住宿取消通知期,包括由于学生的签证被拒导致的取消情形在内:

29天或以上

全额退还住宿费

21-28天

取消费用是2周租金

14-20天

取消费用是3周租金

少于14天

取消费用是4周租金

住宿安排费

在所有情形下均不可退

 

海外学生健康保 (OSHC)与海外游客健康保(OVHC)
对于尚未抵达澳大利亚的学生,学校将退还海外学生健康保/海外游客健康保险。在所有其他情形下,海外学生健康保险/海外游客健康保险的供应商将根据学生退款申请的完成情况来安排退款

赔偿声明
签署录取接受书中的声明后,即代表学生(年满18岁)或未满18岁学生的父母和/或法定监护人同意,在澳大利亚法律允许的范围内,学校及其官员、老师、雇员、代表和代理人不得就学生的死亡或遭受的伤害、人身伤害、残疾、损失、损害和/或财产损失,和/或学生在出勤期间在学校所有/租赁、经营或管理的场所内,或学生在出席和/或参加活动期间,和/或旅行期间,和/或在为学生安排的住处内造成的其他学生死亡或伤害、人身伤害、残疾、损失或损害和/或财产损失承担任何责任,和/或被追究任何责任,和/或向其提出任何索赔。此外,若学校或学校代表组织,或学校协助组织学生出席并参与活动和/旅行(包括体育、文化、社交、教育、娱乐或其他活动在内),或学校知悉其他活动,学生(年满18岁)或未满18岁学生的父母和/或法定监护人同意支付学校直接和/或间接招致的费用。仅适用于未满18岁的学生:父母和/或法定监护人进一步同意,学校可行使绝对酌情权,在学校认为必要和/或需要的时候,为学生寻求并提供医疗和/或光学和/或牙科治疗。这种情况下,父母和/或法定监护人应支付产生的直接和/或间接费用。若学校已代表学生支付了在相关情形下产生的费用,父母和/或法定监护人应在学校提出要求后立即向学校付还费用。上述规定亦适用于签名人的执行人、管理人和受让人

Conditions of Enrolment

Students are required to have read, understand and accept the following conditions of enrolment before signing the Acceptance Declaration provided with the Letter of Offer.  Fees, conditions, course times, timetables, class sizes and course commencement dates may change without notice.  Agreement to these Conditions of Enrolment does not remove your right to take action under the College’s Complaints and Appeals Process or Australia’s consumer protection laws or to pursue other legal remedies.

Attendance
All students must attend at least 80% of classes.  Student visa holders who fail to do so might be reported to the Department of Home Affairs.

Change of Address 
On arrival at the College Student Visa holders must provide their current contact details (including address, email and telephone number). Any changes to these details must be notified in writing within 7 days.

Change of Enrolment
The College reserves the right to charge a non-refundable Change of Enrolment fee of $100 where a student requires a revised Offer Letter or CoE.

Cost of Living
Living costs in Australia vary greatly. Students should budget a minimum of AU$20,000 per year for food, transport, accommodation, clothing and entertainment. Further information on living costs is available from www.studyinaustralia.gov.au

Deferment, Suspension or Cancellation of Study

Students may apply for a deferment of commencement of study due to compassionate or compelling circumstances. The College may initiate a deferment of commencement of study on the grounds that it is not able to offer a suitable class for a student at the time of the student’s initial commencement date.  Students may apply for a suspension of studies due to compassionate or compelling circumstances. 

Students who are the subject of College initiated Suspensions or Cancellations will have access to the College’s Complaints and Appeals process. Full details of the policies and procedures for deferment, suspension and cancellation of studies are available in the Student Handbook given to students on course commencement.

Student Suspension due to failure to make a payment 
It is a condition of enrolment that students pay tuition fees in advance. A student who fails to pay course fees as and when directed may be suspended from the College. No Certificate of completion/attainment will be issued until all course fees have been paid in full.

Dispute Resolution
In the event of a dispute, the student may enter the College’s Complaints and Appeals process. The student may subsequently lodge an external appeal or make an external complaint about a decision by contacting the Overseas Students Ombudsman through www.oso.gov.au

General English (Evening) Course
Students enrolling in the General English (Evening) course are required to have, at a minimum, a Lower-Intermediate level of English (approximately IELTS 4.5).  On testing students at Orientation, those with English language ability below this level will be required to study in the General English (Day) course until they have reached a Lower Intermediate level. Students who do not test at the required level for entry into the GE (Evening) course will be issued an invoice for the difference in fees for study in the GE (Day) course. 

Orientation
All students are required to attend Orientation which is held on the first day of class. Full details are available in the Letter of Offer.

Publicity
The student (and where applicable, the parent or guardian) agrees to grant ELS Educational Services, Inc. and all subsidiaries, affiliated companies, franchisees and licensees, (collectively “ELS”) permission to use my name and/or likeness; and/or quotation (“the quotation”) and/or any writings I may create about my ELS experience (“writings”) as written below:

  1. ELS will own the quotations and the writings, the still photographs, audio and/or video footage in which I appear, and the words spoken in the video footage, and have the unrestricted right to publish said photographs and use such video and the quotations and the writings in any ELS marketing and promotional materials, on all ELS websites, and in any other ELS material, including ELS-sponsored and authorized social media locations and feeds, and shall have the right to license agents and other third parties to do the same – including, without limitation, Berlitz Corporation and its subsidiaries, affiliated companies, franchisees and licensees, branded or identified sites and pages within Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and other social media and internet destinations.
  2. This grant is intended to be worldwide in scope and to apply to all media now existing or hereafter developed.
  3. ELS may display the quotation and the writings on any ELS website or blog, and in printed promotional materials for the purpose of promoting ELS programs, products and services, and may license to agents and third parties the right to make such uses on behalf of ELS.
  4. ELS shall not alter the quotation (other than editing for space considerations in a manner that does not alter the meaning or context) or the form of attribution. ELS may edit the writings for clarity and to ensure conformity with any applicable guidelines or standards in a manner that does not alter their meaning or context.

School-aged Dependents
School-aged dependents who accompany a student to Australia may be required to pay full fees for their schooling, whether they enrol in a government or a non-government school.

School Code of Conduct
Students are expected to follow the reasonable instructions of College staff and adhere to the College’s rules as detailed in the Student Handbook, made available to students at Orientation. Students will be subject to possible suspension and/or expulsion at the absolute discretion of the College (subject to natural justice, and except as otherwise implied by law) for persistent and/or serious infringement of the Student Code of Conduct.

Students under 18 

A student under 18 years of age NOT accompanied by their parents or living with close family members while in Australia and intending to apply for a student visa must have their proposed accommodation and welfare arrangements approved by the College prior to their enrolment being accepted.

Study Breaks
Student visa holders over the age of 18 enrolling in General English and/or Academic English may apply for a maximum of 5 weeks study break within or between courses, which must be arranged on application. Further details are available from applysydney@els.edu

Refund Policy
Applications for refunds must be in writing addressed to General Manager & Principal, ELS Universal English College or email applysydney@els.edu. Any refunds payable under this policy (with the exception of those payable under ‘PROVIDER DEFAULT’) will be made within 4 weeks of receiving the written refund application. A course is defined as the total period of study for which the student has enrolled in. Students receiving a Registration fee waiver or discount will have the full amount deducted from the final amount payable.

More than 28 days before course commencement 100% of tuition fees, textbook/materials fee and OSHC /OVHC will be refunded
Less than 28 days before course commencement 50% of tuition fees. 100% of textbook/materials fee and OSHC/OVHC will be refunded
Cancellation on or after course commencement No refund of tuition fees or textbook/materials fee*
  1. Course commencement refers to the initial single course or a combination/package of courses, revised offer letters included.
  2. Registration fee is non-refundable in all cases.
  3. Cancellations are not effective until notified in writing.
  4. Course fees are not transferable to another person.
  5. A student unable to commence their course because of visa refusal, and provided the visa application was made before the course commencement date, the College will refund all prepaid course fees, minus 5% of the fees or $500, whichever is less. The refund will be made within 28 days of the College receiving a copy of the official visa rejection letter.
  6. A student who requests a transfer from a more expensive course to a less expensive course after the original course commencement date will not be eligible for a refund of the difference in the course fees, other than as required by the ESOS Act or the National Code.
  7. Students who take the ELS Academic English pre-course test to assess their English level will be required to take a placement test on arrival and those who the College determines has a lower level of English than their pre-course test result will be placed in a lower level course. No refund applies in this situation. Students who enter a higher level course will be eligible for a refund of tuition fee only, less a $250 administrative charge.
  8. In all cases of suspension and/or expulsion of students due to non-compliance with the Student Code of Conduct, no refund of monies paid to the College will be made unless required by law.
  9. A student enrolment cancelled due to unsatisfactory attendance or academic progress and will not be entitled to a refund of fees.
  10. Student holiday breaks are included as part of the study period for the purpose of refunds, with the exception of a pre-arranged study break between and within courses.
  11. Refunds for enrolments made through an authorized agent of the College may be paid to the agent.

Provider Default
If the College does not offer an advertised course in which a student has enrolled in, or withdraw the delivery of the course prior to its completion, the College will offer to place the student in an alternative course at no extra cost to the student. The student must advise us in writing to accept the offer or choose to be refunded the unused portion of prepaid fees. The refund will be paid within 2 weeks from the date the College ceases to provide the course.

Homestay/Airport Transfers
Global Experience is our preferred Homestay and Airport Transfer provider. Please visit their website for their refund policy on homestay accommodation and airport transfers:  Where a student breaches the Student Code of Conduct at the College which results in expulsion, or student behaviour in homestay is deemed as unsatisfactory, homestay accommodation may be cancelled. No refund of paid homestay fees is refundable in this case. Unacceptable behaviour might include but is not limited to the following: violence, use or distribution of illegal drugs, anti-social behaviour, sexual abuse or harassment, or criminal activity.

Third Party Residential Accommodation 
The notice period for cancellation is determined by the accommodation commencement date and includes students cancelling due to visa rejection.

29 days or more Full refund of accommodation fees
21-28 days 2 week cancellation fee
14-20 days 3 week cancellation fee
Less than 14 days 4 week cancellation fee
Accommodation Placement fee No refund in all situations

Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) & Overseas Visitor Health Cover (OVHC)
For a student who has not yet arrived in Australia, the College will refund OSHC/OVHC. All other cases the OSHC/OVHC provider will arrange the refund subject to the student completing an application for refund.

Indemnity Declaration
By signing the Declaration in the Offer Acceptance the student (over 18) or the parent(s) and/or legal guardian(s) of a student under the age of 18, agrees that the College, its officers, teachers, employees, representatives and agents shall not be held responsible and/or be under liability as far as permitted by the law of the Country of Australia and/or will not make any claim against them for the student’s death, harm, bodily injury, disability, loss, damages and/or property damage which may be sustained by the student and/or which may be caused by the student in connection with or during the period of the student’s attendance at any premises owned/leased, operated or controlled by the College, the student attending and/or participating in activities and/or excursions and/or in any accommodation arranged for the student. Further, the student (over 18) or the parent(s) and/or legal guardian(s) (for students under 18), agrees to pay any direct and/or indirect costs incurred by the College in relation to these activities where a student attends and participates in activities and/or excursions (whether sporting, cultural, social, educational, recreational or otherwise) organized by or on behalf of or with the assistance of the College or of which we have knowledge. Under 18’s only: The parent(s) and/or legal guardian(s) further consent and agree that the College at its absolute discretion may when it considers it desirable and/or essential seek and provide medical and/or optical and/or dental treatment for the student. In such cases, such costs whether direct and/or indirect will be met by the parent(s) and/or legal guardian(s). If the College has been obliged to incur costs on behalf of the student in such circumstances the costs will be repaid to the College by the parent(s) and/or legal guardian(s) on demand. The aforementioned shall also extend to executors, administrators and assigns of the signatory.